عربي  | English

 

 System of Study

Syrian Private University adopts the Credit Hour System as studying and assessment system.  The system is based on assigning a number of credit hours to each course in the study plan, where one credit hour is equivalent to a theoretical lecture for one hour duration, or a practical session of two hours; repeated on weekly basis, all long the semester.

The academic year consists of three semesters:

1.     The first semester (Autumn), it runs for 16 weeks, including the exam period.

2.     The second semester (Spring). It runs for 16 weeks, including the exam period.

3.     The third semester (Summer). It is a condensed Optional semester. It goes on for eight weeks only.

 

Duration of Study

Years of Study at SPU should not exceed time frame as follows:

1.     Nine years at the Faculty of  Medicine (the regular Duration of  Study is 6 years)

2.     Eight years at the Faculties of:  Dentistry, Pharmacy, and Engineering Colleges in all its branches. (the regular Duration of study in these faculties is 5 years)

3.     Seven years in other faculties (the regular duration of study is 4 years).

 

 Attendance Regulations

A student must commit to a full-time study and attend all lectures, seminars and discussions as per the approved study plan. Student is not allowed to have more than 15% absence of the number of hours scheduled for each course.

 

If a student is absent for more than 15% of the total number of hours scheduled for the course without a medical excuse or a compelling excuse acceptable by the dean of the faculty, the student will be barred from the final exam, and the result in that course is given (Zero), evaluation "Z". The barred student has to re-register the course if it is obligatory. Nevertheless, the result of the course 'Z' is counted in the term GPA for the purposes of warnings and dismissing out of the college.

 

While as the student is considered withdrawn from the course If he/she is absent for more than 15% of the total number of hours scheduled for that course due to a medical excuse or a compelling excuse acceptable by the dean of the college and approved by the College Board , and the provisions of withdrawal are applied. The dean is to report that to the head of Admissions and Registration. The word (Withdrawn) and evaluation "W" are written for that course in the academic record of the student.

 

The medical excuse should be submitted as a report, issued exclusively by the university doctor, clinic or hospital approved by the University, and to be submitted to the dean of the college during a period not exceeding one week from the date of the student dropping out attendance. In other compelling cases, the student provides proof of compelling excuse within one week from the date of the demise of absence reasons.

At the suggestion of the Department Council and the approval of the Faculty Council, Dean of the College announces one week before the start of the exam the names of students who did not achieve the desired ratio of attendance and who are barred from entering the final exam.

 

 

Withdrawal from One Course or More

Students have the right to withdraw from any subject they are registered in during the semester, and in this case student`s estimation in this subject will be (W). The final deadlines for withdrawal from courses should be included within the academic calendar issued at the beginning of the academic year or at the beginning of the semester. During this period, and being approved by their academic advisors, students can change the subjects that they have chosen according to the regulations set by the University Council, which are approved by the Board of Trustees.

 

 

Freezing the Study

1.     Students can freeze their study (withdrawing from all subjects that they have registered in) in a semester if they have certain reasons for this decision.

2.     Students should submit their freezing applications before the end of the eighth week of the semester.

3.     The Faculty Board issues the freezing decision, and students are given (W) in all frozen subjects.

4.     In this situation, financial regulations of the relevant University council are applied after being approved by the Board of Trustees.

5.     The period of freezing study is counted from the maximum allowed period for registration in order to get the degree.

 

Drop out of study and Intermitting Students' Registration

1.     If the student doesn't complete all registration  requirements, he / she is considered dropped out of  study, and he can apply for registration in the next semester, in condition of being subjected to the registration requirements set forth for this semester . In this case, students should pay the registration fees assigned, plus the fees of the previous semester that they don't attend specified by the University Council and approved by the Board of Trustees.

2.      The student is considered dropped out of  studying in the following situations:

a.     If he stopped studying for two consecutive semesters.

b.    If he exceeded the maximum study limit approved by the Council of Higher Education.

c.      If the university issued a final decision to dismiss him for various reasons. (Providing false documents, exceeding the limits of final academic warnings, irregularities that justify dismissal from the university.)

 

3.     Students who dropped out of university and have been dismissed can reregister if they get the approval of the collage council. Those students should pay the registration fees assigned, plus the fees of the previous semester that they don't attend specified by the University Council and approved by the Board of Trustees.

4.     Decisions related to stopping students from studying and reregistration are issued by the University Council depending on a suggestion from the relevant faculty council.

 

Withdrawal from the University

1.     Students can withdraw from the university after submitting an application to the Dean of Faculty.

2.     In order to accept the applications which are submitted before the beginning of the study semester, students should pay all the university fees that they have to pay.

3.     In order to accept applications submitted during the study semester, students should pay the tuition fees for that semester if they are enrolled in it, and they shouldn't claim a refund of any part of it. These fees are kept for students, if they decide to return to the university in the same semester.

4.     When accepting the withdrawal application, the Dean of Faculty passes it to the Vice President for Administrative and Students' Affairs.

5.     After accepting his application, the student is considered withdrawn from the university and it is written beside his name in the university documents (has been withdrawn from the university according to the application no….. date: …), then he can get his documents.

6.     The student can cancel this application by submitting another one to the Faculty Dean. 

 

Academic Warnings and Failures in the study

1.     Cases of Failing

a.     If a student fails in a certain subject (F) or is barred from setting the final exam (Z), he should reregister this course and study it fully from the beginning of the coming semester, and he should pay all consequent tuition fees.

b.     The student whose AGPA is 2 out of 4, and has (F) or (Z) in a certain subject, is allowed to continue study and registration in the following semester. However, he is not allowed to graduate unless he improves these two estimates.  

 

 

2.     Cases of Academic Warnings

a.      The student whose AGPA is less than 2 out of 4, is ranked last in the study semester, the summer course is not included. Students have to increase their AGPA not less than 2 out of 4 in order to cancel this academic warning.

b.    If students, who have an academic warning don't increase their AGPA to 2 out of 4, they are dismissed from the specialization that they are studying. Students who managed to do 99 hours from the credited hours assigned in their study plan are excluded from this if their AGPA is not less than 1, 75. However, if their average becomes less than this in any following semester, students are dismissed without being given any warning.

c.        Students whose AGPA is not less than 1, 75 or what equivalent in percentage, can continue studying even if they have an academic warning, and they are not dismissed because of that.

 

3.      Cases of Dismissal from specializations

a.     If student `s AGPAs are less than (1) Point or the percentage equivalent to it in any study semester (except the summer one) after first semester from his registration in the university, He/she will be dismissed from specialization.

If the student repeats getting less than one point or the it`s equivalent in percentage in the following semester, he will be dismissed out of the university.

b.    Students who are dismissed from their specialization are not allowed to register in other specialization more than once during their study life in the university..

c.      Students who are dismissed from other universities for misbehaving reasons are not allowed to register in any specialization at the university.

d.    Students who are subjected to be dismissed from the university because of their AGPA, when it is INCOMPLET (I), are not allowed to complete studying in the following semester until they increase their average to the required limit, but if they don't they will be dismissed.

 

Remedial Study

Students who are dismissed because of their low average (less than 2) can be accepted in the Remedial study according to the following:

 

1.     Students whose AGPA is not less than 1.50,  have four study semesters to raise this average, so they will be able to become regular students again.  However, if they fail to improve their average, they are not allowed to complete their study, but if those students complete 99% of their credit hours assigned in the study plan, and their total average in them is not less than 1.75, they can have an additional two semesters to improve their AGPA to become (2).

2.      If the students' AGPA is (1 to 1, 49), they can be given a chance for one more semester to improve their average to become (1, 50) or its equivalent in percentage, and when they achieve that, they will be given other three semesters to raise their AGPA to the required level. However, if they fail, they are not allowed to continue the Remedial study. Except those who have done 99% of the credit hours assigned in the study plan with an average equal to (1, 75). In this situation, they can have additional two study semesters to improve their total AGPA.

3.     Students who are accepted to do Remedial study  and who are given four study semesters to improve their AGPA are not allowed to move into another specialization within the university if they fail to raise their average to the required level.  The summer semester is not considered here. 

4.     The maximum of study burden is 15 credit hours in the each main semester and 6 credit hours in the summer semester for students who are accepted to do Remedial study.

عربي  | English

 

 


نظام الدراسة:

نظام الدراسة المعتمد هو نظام الساعات المعتمدة، ويقصد بالساعة المعتمدة دوام الطالب في الجامعة لمدة ساعة نظرية أسبوعياً أو ما يكافئها من ساعات عملية معتمدة لمقرر معين على مدى فصل دراسي كامل.

يتألف العام الدراسي من ثلاثة فصول دراسية هي:

1-      الفصل الأول (الخريفي) مدته 16 أسبوعاً، من ضمنها فترة الامتحانات.

2-      الفصل الثاني (الربيعي) مدته 16 أسبوعاً، من ضمنها فترة الامتحانات.

3-      الفصل الثالث(الصيفي) وهو فصل اختياري مكثف، مدته 8 أسابيع.

 

مدد البقاء في الدراسة:

لا يجوز أن تزيد المدة التي يقضيها الطالب مسجلاً في الجامعة للحصول على درجة الإجازة على:

1-      تسع سنوات في كلية الطب (التي مدة الدراسة فيها ست سنوات).

2-   ثمان سنوات في كليات طب الأسنان والصيدلة والكليات الهندسية بكافة فروعها (والتي مدة الدراسة فيها خمس سنوات).

3-      سبع سنوات في الكليات الأخرى (التي مدة الدراسة فيها أربع سنوات).

 

الدوام في الجامعة:

على الطالب الالتزام بالدوام الكلي، وحضور المحاضرات الخاصة بالمقررات التي سجل فيها ، ومتمماتها، وفقاً للساعات المعتمدة لكل مقرر في الخطة الدراسية، و لا يجوز للطالب أن يتغيب أكثر من نسبة 15% من مجموع ساعات الدوام لكل مقرر.

يُحرم الطالب الذي يتجاوز نسبة الغياب النسبة المحددة أعلاه لمقرر ما من الامتحانات النهائية  لهذا المقرر وتعد نتيجته في ذلك المقرر صفراً، ويعطى فيه التقدير Z)) ، ويعد راسباً فيه، وعليه إعادة تسجيله ودراسته إذا كان إلزامياً. وتدخل نتيجة ذلك المقرر في حساب معدل علامات الطالب الفصلي لأغراض الإنذار والفصل من التخصص.

يجوز لمجلس الكلية النظر في حالات الغياب التي تتجاوز النسبة المبينة أعلاه بحيث يأخذ بالحسبان الأعذار المقبولة أصولاً من قبل رئاسة الجامعة، ويُسمح للطالب الذي تقدم بأعذار مقبولة، بالانسحاب من المقرر، ويمنح تقدير (W)، ولا يعد هذا المقرر بين المقررات التي يحسب منها المعدل التراكمي لعلامات الطالب .

يقدم الطالب في حالة العذر المرضي إلى عميد الكلية، تقريراً طبياً صادراً عن الجهة الطبية  المعتمدة لدى الجامعة خلال مدة، لا تتجاوز أسبوعين من تاريخ انقطاعه عن الدوام، وفي الحالات القاهرة الأخرى يقدم الطالب ما يثبت عذره القهري خلال أسبوع على الأكثر من تاريخ زوال الأسباب.

يعلن عميد الكلية قبل بدء الامتحان بأسبوع على الأقل، بناءً على اقتراح من مجلس القسم وموافقة مجلس الكلية، أسماء الطلاب الذين لم يحققوا نسبة الدوام المطلوبة والذين يحرمون من دخول الامتحان النهائي.

الانسحاب من مقرر أو أكثر:

يحق للطالب الانسحاب من المقرر المسجل فيه خلال الفصل الدراسي، ويمنح في هذه الحالة التقدير ((W، وتحدد التواريخ المتعلقة بآخر مهلة للانسحاب من المقررات ضمن التقويم الجامعي الذي يصدر في بداية العام الدراسي، أو في بداية الفصول الدراسية، ولا يدخل المقرر الذي حصل فيه الطالب على تقدير (W) في حساب المعدل التراكمي وتعد الأيام الأولى للدوام في الفصل ( يحدد عددها في التقويم الجامعي ) أياماً لسحب وإضافة المقررات،  ويحق للطالب خلالها تبديل المقررات التي سبق أن اختارها، وذلك بموافقة المرشد الأكاديمي، ووفق النواظم التي يضعها مجلس الجامعة والمعتمدة من قبل مجلس الأمناء.

تجميد الدراسة:

 

1-  يمكن للطالب الذي لا يستطيع متابعة الدراسة في فصل دراسي لأسباب خارجة عن إرادته أن يتقدم إلى عميد الكلية بطلب تجميد دراسته ( الإنسحاب من جميع المقررات التي سجل فيها ) في الفصل المذكور مبيناً فيها الأسباب الداعية لذلك.

2-    يشترط لقبول الطلب أن يقدم قبل نهاية الأسبوع الثامن من بدء الفصل الدراسي.

3-  يصدر قرار التجميد من مجلس الكلية، ويعطى الطالب التقدير W)) في جميع مقررات الفصل التي سجل فيها والذي جمد تسجيله فيه.

4-  تطبق في هذه الحالة النواظم المالية لمجلس الجامعة ذات الصلة، والمعتمدة من قبل مجلس الأمناء.

5-  تحتسب مدة التجميد الدراسي من الحد الأعلى لمدة التسجيل المسموح بها للحصول على درجة الإجازة.


الانقطاع عن الدراسة وترقين القيد:

 

1-  يعد الطالب منقطعاً عن الدراسة في أي فصل دراسي عند عدم اكتمال متطلبات التسجيل فيه، وله أن يتقدم للتسجيل في الفصل اللاحق ويخضع عندها لمتطلبات التسجيل المحددة في هذا الفصل، وعليه أن يسدد رسم التسجيل الفصلي المقرر مضافاً إليه رسم الإنقطاع عن الفصل السابق المحدد من قبل مجلس الجامعة والمعتمد من قبل مجلس الأمناء.

2-    يرقن قيد الطالب في الحالات الآتية  :

‌أ.        إذا انقطع عن الدراسة في فصلين متتاليين .

‌ب.   إذا تجاوز الحد الأعلى لمدد البقاء في الدراسة ، المعتمدة من قبل مجلس التعليم العالي.

‌ج.  إذا صدر قرار بفصله نهائياً من الجامعة لأسباب مختلفة (تقديم وثائق مزورة، تجاوز حد الإنذارات الأكاديمية النهائية، المخالفات التي تبرر الفصل من الجامعة) .

3-  يمكن للطالب المرقن قيده نتيجة الانقطاع عن الدراسة، إعادة تسجيله في الجامعة وبعد موافقة مجلس الكلية المعني، ويترتب عليه تبرئة ذمته المالية السابقة تجاه الجامعة(إن وجدت) وتسديد رسم التسجيل الفصلي المقرر مضافاً إليه رسم الإنقطاع عن الفصول السابقة المحدد من قبل مجلس الجامعة والمعتمد من قبل مجلس الأمناء.

4-  يصدر قرار ترقين قيد الطالب وإعادة تسجيله من قبل مجلس الجامعة بناءً على اقتراح مجلس الكلية المعني.

 

الإنسحاب من الجامعة :

 

1-         يكون الإنسحاب من الجامعة بناءً على طلب يقدمه الطالب إلى عميد الكلية المعني.

2-    يشترط لقبول الطلب إذا قدَّم قبل بدء الفصل الدراسي أن يكون الطالب بريء الذمة المالية تجاه الجامعة.

3-    يشترط لقبول الطلب إذا قدَّم أثناء الفصل الدراسي، وكان الطالب مسجلاً في ذلك الفصل ومواظباً على الدوام أن يكون مسدداً الرسوم الدراسية المترتبة عليه لذلك الفصل، ولا يحق له المطالبة باسترداد أي جزء منها ويحتفظ له بهذه الرسوم إذا عاد إلى الجامعة خلال الفصل نفسه، مع مراعاة تحقيق نسبة الدوام المطلوبة.

4-    يرفع عميد الكلية الطلب بعد موافقته عليه إلى نائب رئيس الجامعة للشؤون الإدارية وشؤون الطلاب للنظر باعتماده.

5-    يعد الطالب بعد الموافقة على طلبه منسحباً من الجامعة، ويدون بجانب اسمه في سجلات الجامعة (انسحاب من الجامعة بموجب الطلب رقم... تاريخ...)، ويمنح الوثائق الخاصة به .

6-    يحق للطالب الاستنكاف عن طلبه بموجب طلب جديد يقدمه إلى عمادة الكلية، ويشترط موافقة العميد على هذا الطلب.

الإنذارات الأكاديمية والتقصير في الدراسة:

 

1-       حالات الرسوب :

‌أ.  على الطالب الذي يرسب في مقرر ما ويعطى فيه التقدير(Fأو يحرم من تقديم الامتحان النهائي يعطى فيه (Z)، إعادة التسجيل في هذا المقرر ودراسته مرة أخرى في أول فصل يدرس فيه، مع تسديد الرسوم و الأقساط الدراسية المترتبة على ذلك.

‌ب.يسمح للطالب الذي يبلغ معدله التراكمي الكلي 2 من 4 أو أكثر، والحاصل على أحد التقديرين (F) و (Z) في مقرر ما، بالاستمرار بالدراسة والتسجيل في الفصل الدراسي التالي على ألا يسمح له بالتخرج إلا بعد إزالة هذين التقديرين.

2-  حالات الإنذار الأكاديمي:

‌أ.   يوضع الطالب الذي يحصل على معدل تراكمي كلي أقل من 2 من 4 في نهاية كل فصل دراسي بدءاً من الفصل التالي للفصل الذي سجل فيه الطالب ، ولا يعد الفصل الصيفي من ضمن هذه الفصول ، في حالة إنذار أكاديمي مدته فصلان دراسيان، وعليه للخروج من هذه الحالة برفع معدله التراكمي إلى ما لا يقل عن 2 من 4.

‌ب. إذا لم يحقق الطالب في حالة الإنذار السابقة الوصول إلى معدل تراكمي لا يقل عن 2 من 4، يُفصل من الاختصاص الذي درسه، ويستثنى من ذلك الطالب الذي أتم بنجاح ( 99 ) ساعة من الساعات المعتمدة المقررة في خطته الدراسية، على ألا يقل معدله التراكمي عن 1,75 نقطة أو ما يعادلها مئوياً. وإذا تدنى المعدل عن ذلك في أي فصل دراسي لاحق يفصل من الاختصاص من غير إنذار.

‌ج.  يستمر الطالب في الدراسة تحت مفعول الإنذار إذا حصل على معدل تراكمي لا يقل عن (1,75) نقطة، أو ما يعادلها مئوياً ، ولا يفصل بسبب ذلك.

3 - حالات الفصل من الاختصاص :

‌أ.   يفصل من الاختصاص الطالب الذي يحصل على معدل تراكمي أقل من نقطة واحدة أو ما يعادلها مئوياً في أي فصل دراسي بعد الفصل الأول من التحاقه بالجامعة عدا الفصل الصيفي. وإذا تكرر حصول الطالب على أقل من نقطة واحدة أو ما يعادلها مئوياً في المعدل التراكمي في أي فصل لاحق يفصل من الجامعة. 

‌ب. لا يسمح بقبول الطالب المفصول من اختصاص ما في اختصاص آخر أكثر من مرة واحدة خلال دراسته في الجامعة.

‌ج.    لا يجوز للطالب المفصول أكاديمياً من أي تخصص إعادة قبوله فيه مرة أخرى.

‌د.   لا يجوز قبول تسجيل الطلاب المفصولين من جامعات أخرى لأسباب إنضباطية في أي اختصاص في الجامعة.

‌ه.   لا يسمح للطالب المعرض للفصل من الاختصاص أو من الجامعة لتدني معدله التراكمي والحاصل في مقرر ما على تقدير عدم الإكتمال (I) بالاستمرار بالدراسة في الفصل التالي إلا بعد اكتمال علاماته ورفع معدله التراكمي إلى الحد الأدنى المطلوب. ويفصل عند عدم تحقيق ذلك.

 الدراسة الخاصة الاستدراكية :

يجوز قبول الطالب المفصول بسبب تدني معدله التراكمي عن نقطتين في الدراسة الخاصة الاستدراكية وفق ما يلي :

1- يعطى الطالب، إذا لم يقل معدله التراكمي عن(1,50) نقطة، أو ما يعادلها مئوياً فرصة أربعة فصول دراسية لرفع هذا المعدل إلى الحد الأدنى المطلوب ليعود طالباً نظامياً ولا يسمح له، إذا أخفق في تحقيق ذلك بمواصلة هذه الدراسة إلا إذا كان قد أنهى ما مجموعه 99 ساعة من الساعات المعتمدة المقررة في خطته الدراسية وكان معدله التراكمي فيها لا يقل عن(1,75) نقطة، أو ما يعادلها مئوياً ويعطى في هذه الحالة فصلين دراسيين إضافيين حداً أعلى يفصل بعدهما إذا لم يتمكن من رفع معدله إلى نقطتين .

2- إذا كان معدل الطالب التراكمي بين ( 1 و 1,49 ) نقطة، أو ما يعادلها مئوياً يعطى فرصة فصلاً دراسياً واحداً لرفع هذا المعدل إلى(1,50) نقطة أو ما يعادلها مئوياً فإذا حقق ذلك أعطي فرصة ثلاثة فصول إضافية لرفع المعدل إلى الحد الأدنى المطلوب، وإذا أخفق في تحقيق ذلك لا يسمح له بمواصلة الدراسة الخاصة الاستدراكية إلا إذا كان قد أنهى ما مجموعه 99 ساعة من الساعات المعتمدة المقررة في خطته الدراسية وكان معدله التراكمي فيها لا يقل عن(1,75) نقطة، أو ما يعادلها مئوياً ويعطى في هذه الحالة فصلين دراسيين إضافيين حداً أعلى يفصل بعدهما إذا لم يتمكن من رفع معدله إلى نقطتين .

3- يفقد الطالب المقبول في الدراسة الخاصة الاستدراكية حقه في الانتقال إلى اختصاص آخر في الجامعة إذا أتم الفصول الأربعة الممنوحة له دون أن يتمكن من رفع معدله التراكمي إلى الحد الأدنى المطلوب، ولا يعد الفصل الصيفي فصلاً دراسياً لهذه الغاية.

4- يكون الحد الأعلى للعبء الدراسي للطالب المقبول في الدراسة الخاصة الاستدراكية 15 ساعة معتمدة في كل من فصلي الدراسة الرئيسيين وست ساعات معتمدة في الفصل الصيفي.